WEBINAR – The SDGs and Transformation

“Transformation” describes change of great depth and breadth; one framing distinguishes transformation from incremental change and reform. The SDGs describe a global future for 2030. What is the relationship between the SDGs and transformation? What are the implications for SDG 17 in particular, which is the only cross-cutting SDG, that focuses on the “how.”

Date: May 31.
Time: 10 am ET/3pm UK/4pm CET/19.30 India
Register here
  1. Nik Sekhran, Director – Sustainable Development, Bureau for Policy and Program Support, UNDP. In this role, he oversees work on the SDGs and development planning, inclusive sustainable growth, livelihoods and economic recovery, and environmental and natural resources management. Over the past 22 years, Nik has dedicated his career to spearheading sustainable development, working on-the-ground in more than 40 countries.
  2. Kumi Naidoo, Steward – Africans Rising; (former) Secretary-General, Civicus; (former) head of Greenpeace International, (former) Chair, Global Call to Action Against Poverty: Kumi was involved in the processes of developing the SDGs, and has looked at them with a particular concern for transformation.
  3. Per Olsson, Theme Leader Resilience Science for Transformations – Stockholm Resilience Centre: Per’s current research focuses on agency and system entrepreneurship, social-ecological innovations, sustainability transformations, and how to reverse current trends of crossing critical thresholds and tipping points in the Earth system. Per has developed the concept of T-labs (Transformation Labs), a new methodology for generating innovative approaches for re-wiring social-ecological systems.

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the webinar.
This Webinar is Hosted by Future Earth, and supported by the SDG Transformation Forum, the Future Earth Transformation Knowledge Action Network and Geneva2030.
Sustainable Development Goals

Share: Pinterest